Mosses are small, soft plants which grow in shady and damp environments. They are classified as bryophytes, or non-vascular plants. Mosses absorb nutrients and water directly from their leaves.

In the wild, mosses grow close together, forming mats or clumps. Mosses does not have a root system, but could attach itself on hard materials. In aquascapes, mosses give a sense of age if attached to rocks and driftwoods, therefore, making them popular for jungle-type aquascapes.

Different types of mosses are listed below:

  • Fissidens Fontanus – Phoenix Fissidens
  • Fissidens Nobilis – Thai Fissidens
  • Fontinalis Antipyretica – Willow Moss
  • Isoterygium sp. – Mini Taiwan Moss
  • Leptodictyum Riparium – Stringy Moss
  • Monosolenium Tenerum – Liverwort / Pellia Moss
  • Riccardia Chamedryfolia – Mini Pellia Moss
  • Taxiphyllum Barbieri – Java Moss
  • Taxiphyllum sp. ‘Flame’ – Flame Moss
  • Taxiphyllum sp. ‘Giant’ – Giant Moss
  • Taxiphyllum sp. ‘Green Sock’ – Green Sock Moss
  • Taxiphyllum sp. ‘Peacock’ – Peacock Moss
  • Taxiphyllum sp. ‘Spiky’ – Spiky Moss
  • Taxiphyllum Alternans – Taiwan Moss
  • Vesicularia Dubyana – Singapore Moss
  • Vesicularia Ferriei – Weeping Moss
  • Vesicularia Montagnei – Christmas Moss
  • Vesicularia Reticulata – Erect Moss

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s